My wild, crazy, never say it out loud dream came true.

I just gotta start this post with a story.

FullSizeRender-2About half-way through my yoga teacher training program we had an amazing guest instructor teach us about the eight limbs of yoga and yoga philosophy. Before she began, she had each of us introduce ourselves and share our “dream yoga gig” – the big, wild, exciting, stretch dream we dare not share with others. When my turn came, I could feel all eyes on me but mustered up the guts to say it out loud.

I’m Ashley and my dream yoga gig, the wild, crazy, never say it out loud dream… is to teach yoga in Tulum.

I remember feeling so silly to say it. Embarrassed to even think it really. Here I am, just studying and learning how to teach yoga and I think that somehow I will be able to actually teach in what is quickly becoming a major Yoga Mecca.

Well, fast forward two months and… there I am …. teaching my very first full yoga class… in Tulum and at Ahau Tulum.

Ahau is a gorgeous hotel on the beach (across the street from Yoga Shala) that offers yoga in a palapa loft above their cafe and overlooking the beach. It sounds odd but it has this airy openness that makes it feel like you’re practicing yoga in a real, fully functioning tree house. They have classes two times a day led by all sorts of instructors in all sorts of styles of yoga (I’ve even seen photos of acro-yoga going on in that tree house for sure!).DSC04010

My class at Ahau was a huge step toward the realization that whatever crazy dream you may have, anything is possible. And when you put your intentions out in the universe and keep your heart open, crazy awesome things happen. When I put that idea out into the universe, my wildest dreams couldn’t even imagine that it would happen so quickly. But it did!

Trust the universe my dear friends.

Namaste

Leave a comment